Each year the industry comes together to Engage, Inspire and Advance education in Africa.

Held on 15th June 2018, Education Industry Awards is the leading event and platform to recognise, reward and celebrate the success of Africa’s most passionate and committed in education during 2017/18.

Based on thoroughly researched information and a Judging Panel hand-picked for their expertise and thought leadership in education, the event has established itself as a must attend in the calendar and promises to be the most highly regarded and glamorous event in the industry in 2018.

Friday, 15th of June - 17:30 – 19:30 – EduWeek Award Ceremony (open invite)

Meet your MC and co-Hostess for the night:

    Dene Botha     Candice Modiselle


Nominations are officially closed!




Basic Education

  • Impaq
  • Snapplify
  • Edit Microsystems
  • OLICO Maths Education
  • Smart Choice

TVET & Higher Education

  • Snapplify
  • Christiani GmbH
  • Fundi

Early Childhood Development

  • Edit Microsystems
  • Moves For Life
  • Missing Link
  • Mini Chess
  • Impaq

Inclusive Education 

  • Sensory Solutions
  • Edit Microsystems
  • One On One Community Based Programmes


  • Parrot Products
  • RS Components 
  • Veative
  • Xander
  • Edit Microsystems

Innovation Award

  • Book for Every Child Foundation
  • Edit Microsystems
  • One On One Community Based Programmes
  • Veative


NGO Impact of the Year

  • iSchoolAfrica Education Trust
  • ORT SA
  • Thanda
  • The Billion Child Foundation
  • Symphonia


Institution Leader of the Year

  • Alan Whitaker, Founder & CEO, The Billion Child Foundation
  • Edward Mosuwe, Head of Department (Superintendent-General), Gauteng Department of Education
  • Helen Louise Buhrs, CEO, Inscape Education Group (Pty) Ltd
  • Mr Silas Moraila, Principal, Ngwanamatlang Secondary School
  • Ms Makhubedu, Principal, Diepsloot Secondary No3

ICT Implementer of the Year

  • Dr. Candice Livingston, Cape Peninsula University of Technology  
  • Dr. Lynn Bowie (PhD Mathematics), OLICO Maths Education
  • Dimakatso Sefora, HOD, Saron Primary school
  • Jason Fisher, Randfontein High School

Inspiration Award 

  • Kubeshini Govender,  Chief Education Specialist, Western Cape Education Department
  • Alan Whitaker, CEO & Founder, The Billion Child Foundation
  • Khangelani W Sibiya, Maths and Science Teacher, Siphumelele Secondary School
  • Ashra Norton Norton, Director and Founder, The Leadership Colleges
  • Shanette Tiquin, Principal, Carleton Jones High School
  • Thato Mfikwe, President, ISOC Gauteng Chapter


Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Paul Colditz, CEO, FEDSAS
  • Alan Whitaker, CEO & Founder, The Billion Child Foundation
  • Dr Ali Adam, Chairperson and Founder, 2 Oceans Education Foundation